Sock Bug

January 9, 2009 at 2:40 am Leave a comment

Ok, well, remember how I swore off socks some months ago? Well, I have officially flip-flopped. In fact, I have worse than flip-flopped. I have caught the sock bug… bad. All I want to do is knit socks. I’ve lost interest in all my non-socks projects. Yes, it’s that bad. So what would make me change heart so drastically? Well first it was reading the latest book by the Yarn Harlot. Every time I read her stuff, I come away wanting to make socks, period. (She just has a way of making it sound like they are the most amazing thing in the world).

The Yarn Harlot Writes Again


Then, completing my first pair of socks which I mentioned a couple entries ago was a factor. Even though they’re made of cheap acrylic and they’re kind of saggy on my feet, I’ve been wearing them almost nonstop since I made them (and as I write this, in fact). They keep me warm and cozy when I’m in the house and I get a little ego boost every time I look at my feet and think, “I made these”!

The real cincher, however,  was when I made a sock for my husband. (Yes, just one. I’m still working on its mate!). I wanted to make a “real” sock, using tiny needles and sock yarn (Socks that Rock medium weight in Beryl, for those who want to know). What I didn’t realize was how much time it would take. This wasn’t anything like my first pair which were knit with worsted yarn on size 6 needles – those were cake compared to this. And it doesn’t help that my husband has huge feet and that the pattern was a time consuming and mind-numbing 3×1 rib.
It was a real test of patience to finish that sock. I always kept it nearby and did a few rows here and there, whenever i had a chance. And I had a couple of marathon sessions too. But I was determined to finish it.

And I finally did, on Christmas eve while hubby and I were visiting my folks for the holidays.

A single sock

I got that familiar warm and fuzzy feeling of completion, but the best part was seeing my husband actually put it on. It was a little tight, he admitted, and I realized that I would possibly have to rip it back. But he wouldn’t give it back to me. He insisted it was fine and it would “probably stretch out” on its own, and he continued to wear that one sock for the rest of the night and urged me to hurry up and finish the second one!

So even though the pattern is pretty dull, I’m fully determined to finish the second one! I think I may have officially beaten Second Sock Syndrome! Of course I can’t really say that until I complete the pair, but I feel optimistic!

I’ve also decided to give 2-socks-on-one-circular-needle another try. And naturally, because I like pain, I chose one of the more difficult patterns (well, difficult for me) in the book to attempt to re-learn the technique, Belle Epoque, which has a picot edge AND cables, and Yarn Overs! (Oh, my!).

But so far, so good. The picot edge was a headache and if I was more type A, I might have re-done it so that it looked better, but I’m not. So I will learn to love my flaws. I like the technique of knitting two at once and I’ve finally gotten into the flow of it. The yarn tangling continues to be a problem, but that’s partially my fault because I chose to knit from two ends of the same ball of yarn, rather that separate it into two. As for the yarn – I love it! The color is just amazing and the yarn is so soft. I got it in a swap so I don’t know exactly what it is, only that it’s by Mystical Creations. I have a feeling these socks are going to take a while though.

Belle Epoque in progress

I want to start another pair of socks… something that is less boring than the pair I’m working on for my husband, and something less complex than the Belle Epoque ones… but I’m trying to convince myself to finish those before I start any new ones!

When I went home for the holidays I brought along my Avalon Hoodie to work on, but since I was so enamored with my sock projects, I didn’t even touch it. I have to say, the more I look at it, the less i like it. The way the yarn is pooling isn’t really appealing and I’m still not convinced it will fit right. But I have to remind myself that it’s still in progress and not yet blocked… and it may end up being cute! But taking photos of my progress didn’t really encourage me…

And on one final note, I’ve joined Indie Dyer’s WoW sock club! What better way to feed my new sock addiction than to buy yarn inspired by my WoW addiction? :D

Speaking of WoW, here’s a peek at my main toon, Tauren Hunter Ishtaur. I just dinged 60!

Ishtaur

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Crafting Guilt… In which I find myself with more time on my hands, hence the lengthy post.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Ravatar

Sayllama Ravelry

Rockin’ Sock Club 2009

Rockin Sock Club

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

