Show and Tell

February 2, 2009 at 12:39 pm 2 comments

Phew! I’m still insanely busy… our friend Atom comes in tomorrow and will be staying with us for a week, both for leisure and for helping my husband set up his art show which opens this week. (Atom is a talented furniture designer and he helped make some frames, display cases, laser cuts, etc. for the show). I’ve been cleaning alllll day and my back is aching. I swear, sometimes I feel like I’m 60 years old and not 29. And it’s amazing how antsy and irritable I get when I don’t have a chance to knit. It really does relax me and put my mind at ease – even if I only do a couple rows here and there. But today, I was so busy I didn’t even complete a single row and I can definitely feel the difference. It’s late and I’m exhausted but I may try to get a little knitting done before bed just to help me sleep easier!

Anyway, both my husband and I are really looking forward to seeing Atom again and showing him around LA….. but is it horrible of me to fret that I won’t get much knitting done while he’s here? (So selfish, I know!). Well, I’ll be sure to carry some projects around with me wherever I go and hope for some downtime!

Koto-Chan asked about my husband’s show:

promosmt1

It’s his first show and it will feature some of  his work which can be seen at www.wilhelmstaehle.com and www.silhouettemasterpiecetheatre.com. He’s big into papercuts, Victorian style, and macabre humor! I’m very excited for him, but there’s still much to do! I’m helping him print some booklets which we worked on together (www.dollardreadful.com) and I’m working on some stereoscopic images which we’ll display with an old-timey viewer.

Like the View-Master, only old-school! (Remember those? I used to love mine!)

Anyway… heading off to bed now. But just for the heck of it, here’s a couple pics of my Jaywalkers in progress. I’m knitting them with yarn from the WoW sock club in the Long Ears colorway. I love how the yarn looks with this pattern so far!


I still have to finish my husband’s socks. After running out of yarn I ordered a new skein of Beryl… but the new skein is noticeably lighter in color. I’ll have to tink back a few rows and begin alternating yarn to blend them in better. I just haven’t felt very motivated to do so yet…. but I’ll try to get around to it soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Rockin’ Sock Club shipment #1! Spoiler Alert!! Back from a crazy week

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marri  |  February 2, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    your dh’s papercuts are FANTASTIC! and i know what you mean about not knitting – that happened to me during the week last week, and it definitely didn’t help the stress levels. ><

  • 2. koto-chan  |  February 2, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Thanks for sharing your husband’s work. His papercuts are very cool! I hope the show goes well. 🙂

    Also, I love your Long Ears socks – the colorway looks great in that pattern!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Ravatar

Sayllama Ravelry

Rockin’ Sock Club 2009

Rockin Sock Club

