Socks, and Yarn, and Spoilers, oh my!

March 30, 2009 at 6:03 am 1 comment

It’s tax time again, which means I’ve been spending more time itemizing receipts and less time knitting. Yet, amazingly I managed to finish a pair of socks in less than a month! 17 days, to be exact, which is a record for me.

Let me introduce you to my Leyburns, which I knit as part of a KAL on Ravelry.

They were my first toe-up socks, knit toe-up in lightweight Gypsum. I love the colors, and the pattern looks much more complex than it actually is. I enjoyed trying out a short-row heel, but I’m not sure I’m sold on toe-up socks… yet. I’ll give ’em another try in the future though.

I am terrible at forcing myself to knit swatches so I knit these on blind faith, hoping they would fit… and I was lucky! I did have a tighter gauge knitting the second sock so it feels noticeably more snug on my foot, but not uncomfortably so.

Knitting a swatch, however, would have been wise before I started on my Queen of Bead socks from the first installment of the Rockin’ Sock Club. I’m almost done with the first sock and I realize they’re probably going to be too small for my size 9 feet. I hate ripping out so much progress (slow knitter, remember?), but it looks like I may have to if I want to enjoy these socks by actually wearing them! So now I’m taking some of the leftover yarn from my Leyburns and knitting a swatch that I can use as reference for future lightweight projects. Sigh..

In other news I received the 2nd shipment from the Rockin’ Sock Club! The yarn and pattern are gorgeous! I’ll be posting some pics in a bit, so consider yourself warned!

Before I get to that, here’s some pics of some other lovely yarn I have acquired.

The first I was compelled to buy on St.Patty’s day (can you tell?)

It’s Socks that Rock lightweight in the colorway Lucky. I intend to make these:

Not my pic! From Knitty.com

Not my pic

Absinthe socks from the latest issue of Knitty. It looks super-complex so that will probably go on the back burner for a while, until I complete another KAL that is starting in April: Shur’tagal socks!

I’m going to knit these for my husband. But, shhh, don’t tell him that the pattern is named after dragon-riders in the fantasy novel, Eragon.

I’ll be knitting them with lightweight STR in Haida, a raven colorway.

I thought I would get my cat Rainbow to help model with the new yarn since she likes watching crows out the window.

It’s weird to call Rainbow “my” cat, because for the longest time my husband and I affectionately referred to her as “temporary cat”. Our next door neighbor was evicted and basically abandoned his cat. I took pity on her and began leaving out food. And after a while, I decided it was easier just to bring her inside until we could find her a new home. You see, we already have two dogs who do not want to share their house with a feline (They’ve tried catching her in the past, when she still lived outdoors) Plus, my husband, for as long as I’ve known him, has claimed to be severely allergic to cats…

So basically, I’ve been keeping the cat in a separate room where I ply her with many comfy sleeping spots, cardboard boxes, and toys, to make up for the fact that she can’t live in the rest of the house.

But it struck me the other day that we’ve had the cat living with us for almost a year now!! And, needless to say, I’ve gotten rather attached to her. So now she is “our” cat, but we still need to work on integrating her with the dogs. After all this time they don’t seem quite as eager to catch and kill her, but I still don’t trust them completely…As for my husband’s allergies, it seems they were a bit of an exaggeration. He’s grown to like the cat as well (even if he won’t quite admit it!).

Anway, I digress! Onto spoilers!

I think this month’s shipment is gorgeous. When I first saw photos of it online, I was a little hesitant because pink isn’t my favorite color. But seeing the skein in person changed my mind. The colors are really quite lovely, and complex. And a pattern by Stephanie Pearl McPhee! I already know these socks are going to be gifts for a special someone who I won’t name because they might lurk on this blog!

So that’s it for now… time to get back to taxes!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Extra Extra! Slow Knitter Completes projects! Is it 2010 Already??

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. marri  |  March 30, 2009 at 8:56 am

    pretty socks, pretty yarn, and pretty kitty!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Ravatar

Sayllama Ravelry

Rockin’ Sock Club 2009

Rockin Sock Club

